Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Whitby bows out at awards extravaganza

ICE news

BREAKING DOWN barriers between professional institutions was a key theme of Mark Whitby's presidential year. So it was fitting that his final task before handing on the presidency was to award the inter-institutional James Alfred Ewing Medal at November's annual awards ceremony.

The award for specially meritorious contributions to engineering research, made in conjunction with the Royal Society, went to professor Alec Gambling in recognition of his exceptional contribution to the development of fibre optics.

The top institution award, the Gold Medal, went to professor John Uff for his leading role in the field of construction law. Uff will collect his award at the ICE annual dinner in April.

The year 2002 was exceptional for civil engineering projects and the Brunel Medal, awarded to outstanding project teams, reflects that with a joint award.

The civil engineering aspects of both the Falkirk Wheel and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge were considered to be so exceptional that the judges felt both should take the award.

The Scarborough urban wastewater treatment directive scheme won the Edmund Hambly Award for its substantial contribution to sustainable development. Initiated to comply with the European Union legislation on wastewater discharges, the Scarborough sewage works has been designed to resemble a range of traditional farm buildings, thus harmonising with the surrounding landscape.

The much-cherished award for dedicated service to the Institution this year went to Brian Crossley in recognition of over 40 years of active involvement. Starting on the ICE North West graduates and students committee, Crossley founded the ICE's Dubai branch and latterly has served as vice president.

The Warren Medal, inaugurated last year and awarded to servants of the ICE regions, has gone to Arun Kamtekar for 20 years service to ICE Midlands.

Kamtekar will collect his award at the ICE Midlands annual dinner in March.

Two further certificates were awarded for contributions to institution activity. Peter Broughton was recognised for his contribution to the work of the institution as a learned society through papers published in ICE Proceedings.

Roger Cragg was recognised for his many years as a member of the Panel for Historical Engineering Works.

The biennial Zienkiewicz Numerical Methods in Engineering Prize, awarded to a postgraduate researcher under 40, went to Perumal Nithiarasu for the paper 'An efficient artificial compressibility scheme based on the characteristic split method for incompressible flows.'

The International Medal was awarded to Ian Thoms for his role over 26 years in the development of Hong Kong's railway and road infrastructure.

In his progress from assistant resident engineer to director, Thoms worked for employer and contractors.

The highest award for a paper, the Telford Medal, went to Allan Mann, Neil Thompson and Chiel Smits for the paper 'Building the British Airways London Eye'.

Fewer awards than usual were made for papers, due to the falling numbers received by the ICE. Seven papers, including the Parkman Medal for best management paper and the Safety in Construction Medal, could not be awarded this year.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.