Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Under scrutiny

Preparations for this year's National Rail Awards, sponsored by NCE, Rail magazine and Angel Trains are well under way. The event takes place on 6 September at the London Hilton in Park Lane and, if last year's awards were anything to go by, will be a stu

Chairman of this year's judging panel is Sir Robert Horton. He has served as chairman and chief executive of both Standard Oil in the US and BP in the UK.

Horton became vice chairman of British Rail in 1992 and then formed the Railtrack division - which later became Railtrack plc, with him as executive chairman.

The prestigious judging panel is made up of the following prominent rail personalities:

Sir Neil Cossons, chairman of English Heritage, former head of the Science Museum and York's National Railway Museum.

Mike Casebourne, chief executive of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Formerly managing director, GTRM.

John Ellis, former deputy managing director BR InterCity and former managing director, ScotRail.

Stanley Hall, the UK's leading rail safety/accident investigation consultant. Chaired more than 100 accident inquiries.

Gordon Pettitt, formerly general manager, BR southern region, managing director, Regional Railways. director, Heathrow Express and Connex.

Tony Ridley, emeritus professor of transport engineering, Imperial College, London.

Patricia Steel, former director of London Transport and Docklands Light Railway; former chairman DLR; former secretary, Institute of Highways & Transportation; former board member, Transport Research Laboratory.

Dr Alf Roberts, chief executive, Institution of Electrical Engineers; former commercial director, PowerGen.

Stewart Francis, chairman of the Rail Passengers Council.

Stewart plays a key role in representing passengers in the rail recovery plan.

Tony Roche, deputy president, Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Former management posts include group managing director, Central Services BRB and chief executive, BR Maintenance.

Nicholas Owen - a familiar face from Channel 4 and ITN news.

Nick has always had a special interest in transport in general and railways in particular.

Diana Linnett, manager for freight and logistics consultant Sinclair Knight Merz. Diana is a former director of the Railfreight Group and business development manager freight at Railtrack.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.