Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Two tie for Fleming Award


TEAMS FROM the recovery of World Trade Center and the Dublin Port Tunnel have jointly won the BGA's 2003 Fleming Award for geotechnical teamwork, innovation and quality.

Andy Walker of Nicholson Construction, who presented the WTC entry, described how the entire engineering team pulled together to stabilise the basement diaphragm walls during the recovery operation following the 11 September 2001 terrorist attacks.

Chris Menkiti of Geotechnical Consulting Group (whose team included Nesha Kovacevic, Zeljko Cabarkapa and George Milligan) explained how use of the observational method optimised design and improved construction on the technically demanding Dublin Port Tunnel project, Ireland's biggest infrastructure project.

The other two finalists both featured projects from the Channel Tunnel Rail Link: construction of the Thames Tunnel and its approaches on Contract 320 and mitigation of settlement on Ripple Road Bridge on Contract 250.

While the judges retired to make their decision, professor Michael Davis of Dundee University delivered an interesting and challenging keynote lecture Industry and academia - a symbiotic partnership for the future of UK geotechnical engineering. In it, he outlined future technical and educational challenges and the need for both sides to work towards common goals to reap mutual benefits.

The judges - Professor Barry Clarke (Newcastle University), Tony O'Brien (Mott Macdonald), Gordon Torp-Petersen (Crossrail) and Philip Ball (Cementation Foundation Skanska) - could not split the two entries, jointly awarding the £3,000 to them both.

Walker received the award on behalf of Nicholson Construction and the rest of the WTC team which also Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey and Bovis Lend Lease.

The Dublin Port Tunnel team comprised GCG, University College Dublin, Charles Haswell and Partners, NishimatsuMowlem Irishenco Joint Venture, Dublin City Council, Mott MacDonald and KBR.

Robin Wood, managing director of award sponsor Cementation Foundations Skanska and the made the presentations to the winners. The annual award is in honour of its chief engineer Ken Fleming.

lDetails of all team members and summaries of the finalists and winning entries can be found on p16.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.