Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Top five chosen by...

Professor Tony Ridley, Imperial College

1 Sir Alan Cockshaw

2 Sir Alan Muir Wood

3 Sir Neville Simms

4 The utility regulators

5 John Burland

Lord Howie

1 Sir John Egan

2 John Prescott

3 Gordon Brown

4 Swampy

5 Lord Foster

Denis Yell, engineering director, Associated British Ports

1 John Prescott

2 Sir Alastair Morton

3 Mike Casebourne

4 John Armitt

5 Mike Jeffries

Lawrie Quinn MP

1 Simon Murray

2 Tom Winsor and Sir Alastair Morton

3 George Fleming

4 Mike Welton

5 Nick Raynsford and Andrew Smith

Ove Arup director Mark Bostock

1 Tom Winsor

2 John Prescott

3 Simon Murray

4 Duncan Michael

Babtie chairman Henry Perfect

1 Gordon Brown

2 Nick Raynsford

3 Alan Crane

4 Mike Welton

5 Mike Jeffries

Christiani & Nielsen managing director Alan Crane

1 John Prescott

2 Gerald Corbett

3 Ian Andrews

4 Keith Clarke

5 Rosemary Beales

CIRIA director Peter Bransby

1 John Prescott

2 Peter Nutt

3 Simon Murray

4 Sir Neville Simms

5 Sandra Caldwell

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.