Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

The Scottish Parliament

The Scottish Parliament will be able to legislate on land use and planning, transport, inland waterways and the environment including water and sewerage provision and flood and coastal protection.

It will also be able to scrutinise the Strategic Rail Authority and the Health & Safety Commission.

Defence, the fiscal system, nuclear safety, transport and safety and employment law will remain at Westminster.

The Scottish Parliament will have 129 members (MSPs) - 73 elected on a constituency basis and 56 on a proportional basis drawn from the eight European Parliament constituencies.

The Scottish Executive budget will be set by the Treasury plus or minus a tax varying power of up to three pence on income tax.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.