Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Teams line up for excellence award

THIS YEAR'S Fleming award for excellence in geotechnical design and construction together with collaboration, communication and teamwork, follows on from the inaugural competition last year, with another batch of strong finalists.

This year's award ceremony will take place at the Institution of Civil Engineers in London on 5 December.

Teams vying for the award and its £3000 prize are: Building Design Partnership, Taylor Woodrow Construction, GCG, Tony Gee and Partners, John Doyle Construction and Director of Building Development, Royal Albert Hall for the South Steps project at the Royal Albert Hall in London;

Maunsell, Highways Agency, WS Atkins and Mowlem Piling for large diameter piles at the New Medway Crossing;

and Scott Wilson Kirkpatrick, Railtrack and Edmund Nuttall for the Railtrack Northwest Structures Alliance.

The Fleming Award is sponsored by Cementation Found-ations Skanska and supported and judged by the British Geotechnical Association in honour of Ken Fleming, Cementation Foundations chief engineer.

The award marks his lifelong dedication and contribution to excellence in geotechnical design and construction.

Finalists will give a short presentation of their entry on the night. This will be followed by a talk:

'The future of geotechnics is team working' from Mike Putnam, director of Skanska UK, responsible for specialist businesses, and incoming chairman of the Federation of Piling Specialists.

This year's panel of judges led by Richard Driscoll from the BRE, are William Powrie from The University of Southampton; D Beadman, Ove Arup;

and Tim Fitch from Cementation Foundations. The judges will make their final decision during Putnam's talk before Fleming presents the award to the winners.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.