Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Skempton Gold Medal

In 1988 BGS instigated the Skempton Gold Medal, which is awarded for major contributions to the practice of geotechnics in the UK over a sustained period.

The idea behind the Skempton medal is that the individual will not normally have received other comparable recognition in this country.

At the inaugural ceremony of the award, a special presentation of the first Gold Medal was made to Professor Skempton.

Subsequent recepients to date are:

Michael Tomlinson 1988

Bill Ward1991

David Croney 1991

David Greenwood 1993

Arthur Penman 1997

Ken Cole1997

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.