Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Shortlist announced for NCE/ACE Consultants of the Year awards

Consultants large and small have made the shortlist later this month at NCE/ACE Consultants of the Year 2014.

NCE/ACE Consultants of the Year 2014

The shortlist has been announced for the NCE/ACE Consultants of the Year 2014. The awards recognise the achievements of individuals and companies in the consultancy sector.

The winners of all eight categories will be announced at an awards lunch at Claridges in London on 21 March.

Global consultant of the year

This category is for £1bn-plus turnover companies that have a genuinely global consultancy business, operating in territories throughout the world. They can be owned and based anywhere in the world, but must have a presence in the UK. These giants of the sector are recognised for their expertise in every continent.

The shortlist is:

  • URS
  • Aecom
  • Atkins
  • Mott MacDonald
  • WSP
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff


UK major consultant of the year


Sponsored by Mabey

The consultants in this category have a total staff of over 2,500, and are UK-owned. However, their main area of operation can be either within or outside the UK. They are all well established firms with a wealth of experience both in the UK and overseas.

The shortlist is:

  • Hyder
  • Arup
  • Atkins
  • Mott MacDonald
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff


Consultant of the year with between 250 and 2,500 employees

As the title suggests, these consultants have between 250 and 2,500 total staff. They have a presence in the UK, but can be operating anywhere in the world. Many of these companies have long been at the forefront of UK consulting expertise.

The shortlist is:

  • Buro Happold
  • SLR Consulting
  • Peter Brett Associates
  • Tony Gee & Partners


Consultant of the year with fewer than 250 employees

This category recognises the work of the many successful consultants that fit into the business world’s definition of a small to medium-sized enterprise. They have fewer than 250 staff, and are building and developing the UK’s successful consultancy sector.

The shortlist includes both long-established names and new entrants into the market that are rapidly growing their business.

The shortlist is:

  • BWB
  • Flint & Neill
  • Davies Maguire + Whitby
  • BCS Design


Specialist consultant of the year

This award is for companies that have developed a reputation for a specific specialism within the infrastructure consultancy sector.

They represent a wide range of areas of expertise that is frequently called upon by clients, contractors and other consultants.

The shortlist is:

  • Matthew Consultants (part of the Walsh Group)
  • GGP Consult
  • Ardent
  • i-Transport
  • Phil Jones Associates


Young consultant of the year


Sponsored by Hays

This award is for people in the initial stages of their consultancy careers, and is intended to identify and celebrate the future ambassadors of the infrastructure industry.

The shortlisted candidates have already shown enthusiasm and dedication to the careers and to the sector, and have
the ‘star quality’ that should see them reach the highest levels of the industry as their careers progress.

The shortlist is:

  • Natasha Watson, Buro Happold
  • Sarah McKendrick, Jacobs
  • George Kapos, High-Point Rendel
  • Gavin White, Ramboll


Outstanding achievement

This award recognises individuals, groups or teams that are the ambassadors for the profession and exemplify the contribution the infrastructure industry makes to our society, environment and quality of life. The winner will have contributed to the standing and reputation of consultancy and engineering at home or overseas.

The shortlist is:

  • Aecom: 2013 Serpentine Gallery Pavilion team
  • JBA Consulting: Scour enhance spend design team
  • Rhead Group: Emissions reduction team at St Fergus, Kirremuir and Hatton compressor stations


Sustainability champion

Lafarge Tarmac

Sponsored by Lafarge Tarmac

This new award has been developed to celebrate individuals, groups or teams that are champions for sustainability in the consultancy profession, either through a specific project or by their ongoing commitment to raising awareness of sustainability as an issue. The winner will be inspirational in their approach to sustainability, providing genuine leadership.

The shortlist is:

  • Christina Jackson, Amey
  • Mei Ren, Buro Happold
  • Andrew Kinsey, Mace
  • Carbon team, Mott MacDonald
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Andrea Charlson, Arup


The judges for the global, UK major, consultant of the year with between 250 and 2,500 employees, consultant of the year with fewer than 250 employees, sustainability champion and specialist consultant of the year awards are:

  • Mark Hansford, interim editor, NCE
  • Geoff French, President, ICE
  • Bruce Tether, professor of innovation management and strategy, Manchester Business School
  • Francesca Raleigh O’Connell, independent analyst
  • Keith Howells, past chairman, ACE
  • Nelson Ogunshakin, chief executive, ACE

The judges for the young consultant of the year and outstanding achievement awards are:

  • Graham Nicholson, executive managing director, Tony Gee & Partners
  • Greg Lettington, national engineering director, Hays
  • Lucy Carraz, technical director, URS
  • Margo Cole, Consultants File editor, NCE
  • Antony Oliver, editor, Infrastructure Intelligence

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.