Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Royal Academy honours ICE members

ICE News

ICE SENIOR vice president Doug Oakervee tops the list of eleven ICE members elected among the UK's brightest stars in engineering, industry and technology as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

The Academy, established to pursue excellence in engineering and to 'promote the advancement of the science, art and practice of engineering for the benefit of the public', has elected 49 new Fellows.

ICE members elected alongside Oakervee are Professor Richard Chandler, Alan Hayward, Professor David Hight, Professor David Lerner, Professor John Lloyd, David Potts, Samuel Price, Professor Peter Stansby, and Scott Steedman.

Victor Milligan, a Canadian consulting engineer specialising in the design and construction of earth and rockfill dams and tunnels, has been welcomed as a foreign member.

The new Fellows will be welcomed into the Academy at a special dinner on 19 November at Drapers' Hall in the City of London.

Included in the roll call are creator of the World Wide Web Professor Tim Berners-Lee and founder of computer manufacturer Psion, David Potter.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.