Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Rail award judges bring breadth of skills

SIR ROBERT HORTON, former chairman of Railtrack this week announced his hand-picked judging panel to decide this year's National Rail Awards.

The 15-strong team covers a wide range of expertise from across the industry and beyond, and includes representatives from civil, mechanical and electrical engineering institutions, railway operators, logistics experts, academics and the media.

The task of whittling the nation's rail and rail personality achievements to award 13 prize categories will be tough for Horton's team and starts immediately after the closing date for entries on 1 May.

The NRA 2000 awards are backed by NCE parent publisher Emap and co-hosted by NCE and sister magazine Rail. The first of their kind, the awards intend to reward the hard yet often unrecognised work carried out to keep the trains and passengers moving safely in the UK.

Winners will be announced at a gala presentation dinner on 7 September at the Hilton Hotel in London.

Entry packs are now available from Clive Nicholls, awards director, National Rail Awards 2000, Apex House, Oundle Road, Peterborough, PE2 9NP

e-mail: nra2000@ecm.emap. com

Contact Brenda Maycock or Lynne Best tel: (01733) 898100 or fax: (01733) 466859

Judges Mike Casebourne, ICE chief executive

Tony Roche, IMechE deputy president

Dr Alf Roberts, IEE chief executive

Gordon Pettit, former deputy managing director of BR Southern Region

John Ellis, former managing director of BR Intercity

Patricia Steel OBE, former chairman of the Docklands Light Railway

Tim Thirlwall, chief executive Mott MacDonald

Tony Ridley CBE, research fellow Imperial College London

Ed Burkhardt, chairman and CEO of Railworld

Nick Gallop, manager - Logistics Consulting, Sinclair Knight Merz

Suzanne May, chair of Transport 2000

Irving Yass, director of policy and transport, London First

Stanley Hall, railway safety and accident investigation consultant

Simon Montague, BBC transport correspondent

The categories:

Rail personality

Best rail route

Best station

Best operator

Best light rail/metro operator

Innovation of the year

Best maintenance operator

Major project of the year

Project of the year

Most significant contribution to safety

Best customer experience

Integrated transport award

Achievement of the year

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.