Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Past winners

1998: Chris Marshall, now group director at Symonds. Marshall won the award for his work on the Oresund Tunnel design where his management skills allowed him to recognise and seize 'a powerful opportunity to both reduce construction costs and improve quality'. Marshall explained: 'I'm a bit of a nutter for innovation; I just believe that there's always a better way of doing something.'

Subscribe for full online access and get...

  • Full, instant access to all stories
  • Customised email alerts straight to your inbox
  • Monthly print magazine

Register for guest access to keep reading and get..

  • A free taste of other selected news stories
  • Daily email newsletters

Already have a subscription or ICE membership? or