Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Partnership pays off for Team Build winner

News Reported by Mark Hansford

MULTI-DISCIPLINARY working helped the Urban Regeneration Partnership clinch the £1,000 top prize in last week's Royal Bank of Scotland Team Build 2002 competition.

The two day annual competition, held at the ICE, challenges young professionals to develop a site under simulated design and construction conditions.

This year the Birmingham Heartlands was given the Team Build treatment.

In a fiercely competitive atmosphere, teams developed the site through the stages of outline planning, whole life performance, outline design, contract strategy, detailed design to construction and operation.

With such a variety of tasks, multi-disciplinary teams are essential for success.

'The Team Build competition is to be commended as one example of the construction industry institutions working together in partnership, ' said ICE chief executive Amar Bhogal.

'More than 500 young professionals in the construction industry have now taken part.

We need to nurture and encourage this together with our other joint ventures.'

Urban Regeneration held off a strong challenge from Alloy Associates, which was consoled with a special £500 prize for the contract strategy stage.

Paul Lacey, master of the Worshipful Company of Constructors presented the winning cheque to Arup's Andrew Godber and David Hunt, Steve Welch of Taylor Woodrow, James Hall of Associated Architects, Mark Jones, of EC Harris and Richard Fieldman of NG Bailey.

The Alloy Associates team comprising Pippa Higgins of Taylor Woodrow, Joseph Donohue of Arup, Amanda Haywood of Associated Architects, Craig Barker of EC Harris, and Martin Simpson and Richard Monksmith of Hoare Lea, received the special prize from Michael West, master of the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects.

Submissions for the pre-qualification stage for next year's competition will be invited in September 2002, with the prequalification competition in December.

INFOPLUS For further information, contact Dionne Dalgety (020) 7665 2238 or e-mail dionne. dalgety@ice. org. uk.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.