Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Overseas engineers feature in Queen's Birthday Honours

BRITISH ENGINEERS working abroad were dominant among construction industry figures recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours announced last week.

Costain Iraq manager Richard Hucker received an MBE in recognition of his services to British business in Iraq.

Hucker heads a Costain team responsible for construction and consultancy operations in the Kurdish region of Iraq, including the construction of an international airport and preparation of a 10 year development plan for the region.

'This is obviously a tremendous honour not only for me but for the entire Costain team that has worked in the region, ' said Hucker.

Amec Business Development director Ian Thomas was awarded the OBE for services to British business interests in South-East Asia.

Thomas has worked in South-East Asia on behalf of Amec for almost 10 years, advising the British government on Asia Pacific trade and investment.

'I am delighted to have been nominated for this honour and hope that it highlights the strong links that exist between the UK and the governments and people of South-East Asia, ' he said.

The top construction industry honour was far closer to home, with former BCIA judge and Manchester City Council leader Richard Leese awarded a knighthood for services to local government.

Other notable honours include Imperial College head of civil engineering and former Institution of Structural Engineers president David Nethercot receiving an OBE, and Highways Agency chief highways engineer Ginny Clarke gaining a CBE.

John McKenna Other honours include: CBE: Bovis Lend Lease chairman John Spanswick; British Nuclear Fuels chairman Gordon Campbell; Mott McDonald divisional director Ian Flower.

OBE: Office of the Deputy Prime Minister civil engineer Geoffrey Harding; Transport Research Laboratory chief research scientist David Lynam.

MBE: Pell Frischmann director John Gallagher; Engineering Training Council chairman William Brown.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.