Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Outstanding achievement honoured at ICE awards

OUTGOING PRESIDENT George Fleming handed out five major awards 'for outstanding achievements and services to the civil engineering profession' at the ICE's annual awards ceremony last week.

Professor Sir Alec Skempton won the Gold Medal for civil engineering excellence, recognising his 'active contribution to the civil engineering profession' over more than 60 years.

He has devoted more than 50 years to the development of Imperial College's centre of geotechnical engineering, which has an international reputation for being at the cutting edge of design of tunnel, underground works and coastal engineering.

His work helped to make possible post-1950s construction of tall buildings in London Clay.

The Edmund Hambly Medal, awarded for the creative design of an engineering project which makes a substantial contribution to sustainable development, went to Southern Water for its Operation Seaclean.

This is a series of major projects to bring environmental improvements to coastal waters off Kent and Hampshire, and to improve the quality of bathing waters, rivers and drinking water.

The Garth Watson Medal was awarded jointly to Professor Bill Barr and David Cawthra CBE for their dedicated and valuable service to the Institution.

Barr's involvement with the ICE spans almost a quarter of a century, starting with the Glasgow & West of Scotland local association and then with three terms as a member of Council.

He has been chairman of ICE commercial arm Thomas Telford since its formation in 1990.

Cawthra was recognised for his 'tireless' efforts as chairman of the Future Framework Presidential Commission, which questioned every facet of the institution in producing 228 recommendations for change. He has since served two years as a vice president.

This year's ceremony saw the award of the inaugural International Prize, shared by Arup deputy chairman Nigel Thompson and Colonel Bede Grossmith MBE.

The prize, bequeathed by the late Ian Hodgkinson in memory of his son Paul, is awarded to civil engineers 'who have had prime responsibility for an outstanding contribution to civil engineering outside the UK'.

Civilian Task Force leader Thompson and Grossmith, Commander of the Military National Support Element, received the medal for their work reconstructing Kosovo following the Serbian withdrawal.

Finally, the Brunel Medal for excellence by a group of individuals went to a team from the Balfour Beatty/Costain joint venture responsible for construction of the Cardiff Bay Barrage.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.