Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Oakervee scoops ICE Gold Medal

Outgoing executive chairman of Crossrail, Doug Oakervee, has scooped the ICE's Gold Medal at the institutions' annual awards, held at one Great George St today.

Presented the medal by current ICE president David Orr, the judges' citation read: "In recognition of over four decades of outstanding contribution to the profession around the world and to the Institution. He is well known for delivering new mass transit systems and the airport in Hong Kong, and is now steering the Crossrail project through both Houses of Parliament.

"ICE remembers Doug warmly as President of the Institution where he enabled the profession to develop strong mutual links with equivalent professional bodies overseas, particularly in China."

The 139th president of the ICE, Doug said: "I am deeply honoured to receive the Gold Medal from the Institution. Civil engineering and construction have been my life and passion for over fifty years. To be recognised in such a way by my peers is one of the proudest moments in my career."

Those awards in full:

The Institution of Civil Engineers Gold Medal: Doug Oakervee

President’s Medal: Hugh Maris Ferguson

Brunel Medal: The engineering team responsible for the improvement scheme for the A30 between Bodmin and Indian Queens

International Medal: Khoshhal Azeemi

Edmund Hambly Medal: Northern Ireland Water

Garth Watson Medal: Cameron S Lindsay

Warren Medal: Robert Broatch, Richard Watson

Renée Redfern Hunt Memorial Prize: Kathryn Waghorn

James Rennie Medal: Sarah Glover

Garth Watson Medal: Ambrose CHEONG Siu-Yau

ICE Mentor of the Year Award: Colin Taylor and Gurucharan Singh

MERIT Competition: Patrick Scanlon, Sharon Wong, Marco Moutinho, Bernard Wong, Irwan Mukmin, and Daniel Offereins for the Stop, Calibrate, Listen! project.

Awards for published papers:

Telford Premium (four awards): Mike Chrimes for: "St Katharine Docks – Telford’s high-speed harbour"; Dr Robert Gross, Philip Heptonstall, Professor Matthew Leach, Professor Dennis Anderson (Posthumous), Professor Tim Green, Professor Jim Skea for: "Renewables and the grid: understanding intermittency"; Dr Andrew Salter, Dr Sonia Heaven, Michelle Delafield, Zane Gunton for: "Anaerobic digestion of verge cuttings for transport"; and Jack Knight for: "Explaining tunnel construction by joint mapping".

Telford Gold Medal: Dr Michael B Abbott for "Managing the inner world of infrastructure"

George Stephenson Medal: Professor Antonio Gens, Dr Jean Vaunat, Benoit Garitte, Dr Yannick Wileveau for: "In situ behaviour of a stiff layered clay subject to thermal loading: observations and interpretation"

Baker Medal: Professor Galip Seckin, Professor Dr Tefaruk Haktanir , Professor Donald Knight for: "A simple method for estimating flood flow around bridges"
Webb Award: Dr Peter Woodward, Meysam Banimahd, David Thompson for: "Geocomposite technology: reducing railway maintenance"

Trevithick Prize: Stylianos Yiatros, Ahmer Wadee, Gary R Hunt for: "The load-bearing duct: biomimicry in structural design"

Safety in Construction Prize: Alasdair for: "CDM Regulations: 12 years of pain but little gain"
Robert Alfred Carr Prize: Dr Richard Fenner, Olivia Thorne, Gavin McFarland for: "Case-based reasoning approach for managing sewerage assets".

Reed and Malik Medal: Barry Brodrick, Professor Andrew Collop, Professor Stephen Brown, Roger Cooper for: "The introduction of flexibility into a road ironwork installation"
Rees Jeffreys Award: Dr Matthew Frost, Professor Stephen for: "Comparison of noise impacts from urban transport".

Overseas Prize: Narasimhan Raghavan, Siva Kosuri, Vijaya Bhaskar, Patrick de Laguerie, Pierre Roux, Philippe Vaskou, André Saint for: "Visakhapatnam underground lpG storage cavern, India"; and Bruce Corney, David Meigh, Michael Hieatt for: "Lin Au Culvert, Hong Kong: taming the torrent".

MCR Award: Dr Allan Scott, Professor Mark Alexander for: "The influence of binder type, cracking and cover on corrosion rates of steel in chloride – contaminated concrete"
Manby Prize: Dr Pasquale Ponterosso, Dr Dominic Fox for: "Going organic: using evolution in civils design"

John Mitchell Medal: Dr Gareth Michael Swift, Dr Russell Jones for: "Design of a reinforced embankment on compressible soil"
John Henry Garrood King Medal: John Redpath "Pendel bearing replacement at A9 Kessock Bridge"
James Watt Medal: Professor Doug for: "Innovative Green Office, Leeds: a new standard for sustainable buildings"

James Hill Prize: David Gullick, Robert Cairns, Dr Donald Pearson-Kirk for: "Application of partnering principles to a framework contract".
Howard Medal: Dr Xiaoxin Wang, Dr Nicholas Walliman, Professor Ray Ogden, Chris Kendrick for: "VIP and their applications in buildings: a review"
Halcrow Prize: Peter James Phipps, Antony Drake for: "Cliff recession and behaviour studies, Hunstanton".

Geotechnical Research Medal: Professor David Hight, Dr Apollonia Gasparre Dott, Dr Satoshi Nishimura, Dr Minh Nguyen, Professor Richard Jardine, Professor Matthew Coop for: "Characteristic of the London clay from the Terminal 5 site at Heathrow Airport".
Frederick Palmer Prize: Michael Willford, Peter Young, Caroline J Field for: "Predicting footfall-induced vibrations".

David Hislop Award: J M F Carter for: "North Hoyle offshore wind farm – design and build"
Coopers Hill War Memorial Prize: Michael Attridge, Harpal Tamber for: "Channel Tunnel Rail Link section 2: procurement and contract strategy."

Bill Curtin Medal: Dr Peter Bourne-Webb, Professor David Potts, David Rowbottom for: "Plastic bending of sheet steel piles".

2008 Graduates and Students Papers Competition Final: Andrew Jackson for: "Pile jacking in sand and silt".

T K Hsieh Award: Mr J Siddiqui, Mr S Ahmad for: " Impulsive loading on a concrete structure"
Parkman Medal: Hamish Lal for: " The rise and rise of time-bar clauses"

Crampton Prize: Dr PS Dimmock, Robert J Mair for: " Estimating volume loss for open-face tunnels in London clay"

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.