Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


The 2004 Telford Medal of the ICE, its highest award for a publication, has been won by Simon Wheeler of the University of Glasgow, Dr Radhey Sharma of Iowa State University, USA (left and right, pictured with Doug Oakervee), and Marc Buisson of Sogreah Consultants, France, for their paper Coupling of hydraulic hysteresis and stressstrain behaviour in unsaturated soils. The paper was published in the Géotechnique Symposiumin-Print on Suction in unsaturated soils in February 2003.

Subscribe for full online access and get...

  • Full, instant access to all stories
  • Customised email alerts straight to your inbox
  • Monthly print magazine

Register for guest access to keep reading and get..

  • A free taste of other selected news stories
  • Daily email newsletters

Already have a subscription or ICE membership? or