Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

New members join Parliamentary infrastructure group

New members of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Infrastructure (APPGI) have been confirmed following its AGM.

The group works to highlight the importance of infrastructure and the use of underground space to the economy and society. The ICE and the British Tunnelling Society are secretariats.

Former transport minister Stephen Hammond will chair the group, taking over from Nick Raynsford, who stepped down from Parliament at the May General Election.

All political parties are represented on the group. MPs Neil Carmichael, Mark Prisk, Alan Whitehead, Kelvin Hopkins and Alan Brown join the group, plus Lord Berkeley and Lord Chidgey.

The forthcoming programme will include activities concerning the devolution of infrastructure decision making and energy storage. The group will also visit a number of civil engineering sites and its summer reception will take place at the ICE this week.

The summer reception marks the relaunch of the group and will have a “This is Civil Engineering” theme; celebrating the value and contribution of infrastructure projects to the UK economy.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.