Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


Judges for this year's NCE Graduate Awards faced a tough challenge at the ICE last week choosing a winner from nearly 60 entries. They had already selected seven shortlisted candidates who were invited to Great George Street to present ideas on increasing the popularity of civils university courses.

'It was a hard fought battle as any of the finalists was worthy of winning, ' said awards secretary David Hayward. But recipients for the top £1,000 prize, and two £500 runners-up awards, will be revealed at tomorrow's presentation ceremony held appropriately during NCE's Construction Careers Event at London's Paragon Hotel.

All 11 award sponsors put forward judges, pictured, from left to right, front row: Andy Aldred (Morrison Construction); Robert Smith (Hays Montrose); chairman Andrew Wolstenholme (BAA); David Howarth (Railtrack); and Richard Haryott (Ove Arup). Back row: John Mayne (Babtie); Stuart Bell (Marshalls); Jeff Keer (Balfour Beatty); Stuart Wharton (Binnie Black & Veatch); Julien Parrott (ICE); and David Beadman (Bachy Soletanche).

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.