Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

names & faces

Sir Alan Cockshaw is to be chairman of both English Partnerships and the New Towns Commission, it was confirmed on Tuesday. Cockshaw will officially take up the appointments on 1 October and effectively take over a month later at the end of his year as ICE President. His remit is to merge the two organisations and bring them together with the Regional Development Agencies.

Dr Paul Norris (M) has been appointed a director of Mott MacDonald's Special Services Division.

Richard Hare-Winton (M) has been appointed director of technical services at HBG Construction. Hare-Winton will be responsible for technical services, safety and quality assurance.

John Laing Construction's civil engineering division has appointed Roy Hill as commercial director. He will take responsibility for the division's business development, overseeing all marketing, estimating, tender planning and design management activities. Hill joins from Alstom.

Maunsell Rail has appointed Vic Stevens as technical director.

Brian Parry (M) has joined Boreham consulting engineers as associate director to lead a transport and design group.

David Pettifer (M) has been appointed to the board of consultant Jeremy Benn Associates. Pettifer is in charge of the firm's Midlands Region Office. Dr John Mawdsley (M) and Mark Bentley also join the firm as associates at the Skipton office.

Stuart Macmillan (M) and Claus Thomsen (M) have been appointed associate partners of Steven Frankham Associates.

Hydrogeologist Rick Brassington (M) has established his own consultancy practice in hydrogeology and water resource eng- ineering, based in Warrington.

Ove Arup director Turlogh O'Brien has taken the chair of the Construction Research & Innovation Strategy Panel.

Tan Khan (M) of BWA Capita has been promoted to director of its civil and structural section.

Kevin Martin (M) has joined Oscar Faber as director of traffic and transportation in Scotland.

Dr Adrian Boldy (M) is taking early retirement as senior lecturer at Warwick University's civil engineering department to concentrate on his work related to pressure surge problems at HYDROSIM consultants.

David Wilshaw (G) has joined consulting engineers, geologist and environmental scientist Earth Science Partnership as director of its northern office in Deeside, Flintshire.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.