Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Names & faces

Terry Hill (M), former technical director of Union Railways and managing director of pathways for London & Continental Railways, rejoins Ove Arup as head of the Transport Division. Hill, once an Arup director, left after 20 years to join Union Railways in 1996.

Ian Liddell (M), a founding partner of Buro Happold Consulting Engineers and designer of the Millennium Dome, is the new Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor in the principles of engineering design at the department of engineering, University of Cambridge.

Professor emeritus and director of the Institute for Numerical Methods in Engineering at the University of Wales, Dr Olgierd Zienkiewicz (F), is to receive the Timoshenko Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers for distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics.

Fergus Collie (AM) is director of laboratories at St Alban's materials consultancy STATS.

Greg Shillabeer is an associate at Glasgow-based environmental consultant EnviroCentre.

Manchester TEC chairman David Compston (F), former chairman of Allot & Lomax, has been awarded a CBE in the New Year's Honours for services to training and enterprise.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.