Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Names & faces

Bob Courtier (F) has been appointed chairman of the governing board of the Quality Scheme for Ready Mixed Concrete, the construction sector specialist certification body. He takes over from Lord Hayhoe, who has retired after six years in office.

Mike Kendrick OBE (M) has been appointed non-executive director on the Jackson Civil Engineering board.

The Association of Consulting Engineers Council has elected former ACE Chairman John Bowcock (M) as an honorary member of the Association. The award marks his final retirement from the profession.

Michael Hockey (M) was elected president of the Engineering Construction Industry Association at the AGM 2000. He succeeds John Burt.

Clugston Group has appointed John Burnett (M) to the newly created position of chief executive of the group's construction related activities.

Corinne Swain, director or Arup, has been awarded an OBE for her services to planning.

Robert Ebelthite has joined consultant Gibb as technical director within its airports division.

Bruce Calder who heads Callsafe Services will be responsible for ensuring that managers on the Channel Tunnel Rail Link are fully trained in the latest safety regulations.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.