Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Names & faces

Working lives

. Virgin Rail Group chairman Chris Green has taken over from Paul Kirk as chair of the Railway Forum.

Angela Robotham has been appointed as engineering director at Marine Current Turbines.

Geoff Cooper succeeds Frank McKay as chief executive of Travis Perkins.

FaberMaunsell has appointed Paul Shinkwin (M) as principal consultant and Jonathan Haynes (M) as regional director of the transport group's detailed design and implementation teams, both based at the St Albans offi ce.

Maurice Houkes becomes senior consultant at the Bristol offi ce.

Stephen Pollard joins Mixlance Technical Services as senior projects manager while Krys Czerpak becomes administration director.

Michael de Voil is to head Carillion Transport Consultancy.

The Central Council of the Laboratory of the Research Councils has re-appointed Professor John Wood as its chief executive.

Joynes Pike & Associates has appointed George Marsh and David Heathcote as nonexecutive directors and board members.

Chris Thompson becomes international business development director for Atkins Rail. Dr Robert Davis takes over from Thompson as director, control and systems.

Irum Malik becomes economic and policy director at the Association for Consultancy & Engineering (ACE). Bullen Consultants chairman Desmond Scott becomes ACE chair for 2005.

Peter Hookham, (M) is emigrating to New Zealand to take up a post with Transit NZ as a principal transport planner in its national office in Wellington.

.JMP Consulting has appointed Kenneth Aitken (M) as an associate and Jason Gillespie (M) as principal engineer to be based at the Glasgow office.

Mouchel Parkman has appointed two new business development directors: David Gillham (M) for the local highways team and Tony Glazebrook the rail team.

William Wingate has joined Arup as an associate to work in railway business planning.

John Cunliffe joins the board of Woods Hardwick as director while Martin Cowling becomes associate director.

Owen Williams has promoted Andy Milner (M) to manager of its Highways Agency contracts.

Mace has made Richard Bannister director of urban regeneration, Ross Gates director of local government, David Bray and Nigel Cole directors of infrastructure, Stephen Jeffrey director of mechanical and electrical services, and Richard Thorpe director of business in Scotland.

Hoare Lea has appointed Miller Hannah as partner.

Philip Kennedy has joined Scott Wilson's Liverpool office as associate, while Dr Ian Xiaoying Yi has been appointed principal engineer for the Chinese railways market.

Professor Alan Thorpe is chief executive and deputy chair of the Natural Environment Research Council.

The Lagan Group has appointed Mark Kelly as director of its quarry materials division in Northern Ireland.

Dr David Moore has been promoted to BSCA director of engineering.

Peter Roberts joins Kingspan Pollution Control where he will oversee rainwater management and pollution control systems.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.