Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Medal of honour

The 2010 ICE Awards last week showcased the best and brightest in the industry. Here are the winners of the prestgious awards.

The 2012 Olympics and Paralympic site delivery, the temporary crossing erected over the river Derwent during the Cumbria floods, work to reduce poverty through infrastructure and engineering in South Africa and the principal engineer on the famous inverted pyramid at the Louvre museum in Paris are among winners taking home respected Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) awards this year.

The awards, which celebrate excellence in civil engineering and endeavor to promote those who have demonstrated a high level commitment to the profession, were held last week at the ICE headquarters in Westminster and presented by ICE President Paul Jowitt.

Jowitt said that it was an honour to present the awards.”As civil engineers we have a responsibility to use our experience, expertise and knowledge to best serve the needs of society in terms of providing sustainable infrastructure solutions now and for the changing future,” he said.

“Those who are receiving awards today should take extreme pride in their achievement - they succeeded not only in excelling in their chosen profession but also in contributing to communities here and abroad.

“Some of the superb work of the recipients included facilitating transport of food and supplies to the hard-hit communities of the Cumbria floods, developing what is set to be a world-class standard Olympics site with a real emphasis on sustainability and helping to reduce poverty abroad through the implementation of the UN Millennium Development Goals in developing countries. These are immeasurable achievements.”
The Institution Awards are as follows:

● Gold Medal
Recognises sustained contribution to civil engineering over many years that is of sufficient magnitude and stature to merit an Institution premier award.
Awarded to Henry Bardsley in recognition of his outstanding portfolio of work including the
Passerelle Simone de Beauvoir over the river Seine and the Inverted Pyramid at the Louvre Museum, where he was the principal engineer.
● The Warren Medal

In recognition of an ICE member’s service to his or her region.

■ Awarded to Trevor Hodgson for his outstanding contribution to the Yorkshire and Humber region and nationally, holding places on Council and many boards.
■ Awarded to John Done in recognition of his significant contribution to the South East for the last 30 years holding places on Council and many boards.

● The Garth Watson Medal

Awarded for dedicated and valuable service to the Institution.

This year’s winner was Bob McGowan for his dedicated and valuable service to the ICE over the last 25 years, especially for his involvement in boards such as NEC, Council, ICE Scotland and professional conduct activities.

● Edmund Hambly Medal
for the creative design of an engineering project that makes a
substantial contribution to sustainable development

This year’s winner was the London 2012 Enabling Works Project. Awarded to the Olympic Delivery Authority (ODA) for the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympics Games site. This project was seen as outstanding in its application and shows sustainability through reclaiming over 97% of the demolition materials, surpassing the 90% target set out in the ODA Sustainability Development Strategy and re-using over 80% of all excavated materials.

● International Medal

Awarded annually to a UK national civil engineer who has made an outstanding contribution to civil engineering outside the United Kingdom; or to non-UK citizen who has made an outstanding contribution to civil engineering inside the United Kingdom.

Awarded to Ronald Watermeyer in recognition of his significant contribution for the last 20 years in the delivery of enabling engineering mechanisms for the UN Millennium
Development Goals in South Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa and internationally.

● Brunel Medal

Presented to individuals or firms who have shown excellence in civil engineering.

This year’s winning project was the construction of the temporary crossing of the river Derwent at Workington, Cumbria. Awarded to Cumbria County Council and the engineering team responsible for delivering the 67m long bridge suitable for pedestrians, cyclists and traffic following floods that washed away old
crossings in late November 2009.

● Presidents Medal

Awarded personally by the President for service to the Institution or the profession that has not otherwise been recognised.

Awarded to Charles Ainger,visiting professor at the University of Cambridge and sustainable development consultant for MWH, for his invaluable contribution as a programme tutor to the President’s Apprentice Scheme focusing on international development.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.