Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

ICE elects two new Honorary Fellows

John Burland and Douglas Oakervee have been elected honorary ICE Fellows. Honorary Fellows are elected by ICE Council on the recommendation of the ICE executive board.

There are two categories - those who are distinguished civil engineers in their own right, and those who have rendered particular assistance to the civil engineering profession.

Burland and Oakervee were nominated as eminent and distinguished civil engineers who have received international acclaim and have rendered exceptional assistance to civil engineering and to the reputation of British engineers internationally.

Burland, currently emeritus professor and senior research investigator at Imperial College, has been responsible for the design of many large ground engineering projects such as the underground car park at the Palace of Westminster and the foundations of the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre.

John Burland

John Burland: Imperial College

He specialises in problems relating to the interaction between the ground and masonry buildings and was London Underground’s expert witness for the parliamentary select committees on the Jubilee Line Extension.

Burland also advised on many geotechnical aspects of that project, including ensuring the stability of the Big Ben clock tower. He was also a member of the international board of consultants advising on the stabilisation of the Metropolitan Cathedral of Mexico City and was a member of the Italian prime minister’s commission for stabilising the leaning tower of Pisa.

Douglas Oakervee

Oakervee: Former ICE President

Oakervee is non-executive chairman of Laing O’Rourke Construction, Hong Kong, and was project director for the Hong Kong Airport Authority for seven years where he led the construction of Hong Kong airport and for which he won several prestigious awards, including the ICE Gold Medal. He was awarded an OBE for services to civil engineering overseas and also served as the 139th ICE President.

He oversaw the legislation for London’s Crossrail project through Parliament and was also appointed a CBE in the Queen’s birthday honours list for services to civil engineering.

In 2012, he was appointed chairman of HS2 Ltd and in 2013 was awarded a doctorate of engineering by Heriot-Watt University.

Both accepted the nomination and signed the Roll of Patrons and Honorary Members at a ceremony at One Great George Street last week.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.