Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Last call for World Architecture Festival entries

There is just one week left to enter the World Architecture Festival awards, with judges keen to see entrants for the structural design category.

The world’s finest architects will converge in Barcelona from November 2-4 for the World Architecture Festival (WAF). Alongside speakers, academics, architects and engineers from around the world, WAF features an awards programme – and there are only four weeks left until entries close. The last day to submit your scheme for judgement by a panel of high profile industry leaders, and the chance to win World Building of the Year, is 30 June.

A key category for NCE readers is the structural design.

“This category allows the art of engineering to be celebrated at WAF,” said Wilkinson Ayre director Keith Brownlie.

“Entering into awards gives your project the chance to be seen in a global context. We’re setting a high benchmark and want to see great projects that blend engineering and architecture.”

There are nine categories in total, with up to four shortlisted for each.

Final jury reviews entries on Wednesday/Thursday and picks nine category winners. They present in a crit room on Friday; winners and overall winner receive awards on Friday evening.


  • Composites/synthetics (eg carbon)
  • Concrete
  • Glass (where used structurally)
  • Masonry (for example brick and stone)
  • Metal (steel, aluminium)
  • Spans (for example bridges, stadiums, big sheds)
  • Tensile (for example fabric roofs)
  • Timber
  • Towers

Categories for architecture awards range from health, landscape, transport, and shopping. The interior awards will feature accolades for residential and restaurant, to office and hotel use. Complete your brochure online either at or   

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.