Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

IStructE rewards structural engineers

GIFFORD GRAHAM & Partners was presented with a special award for its Flintshire Bridge across the Dee Estuary at the Institution of Structural Engineers Awards lunch this week.

Also recognised with special awards were: Ove Arup & Partners, Australia, for its exhibition halls at the Sydney Olympic and agricultural showground; Beca Carter Hollings & Ferner for the Sky Tower in Auckland, New Zealand; and J R Spronken & Associates for the Stoney Trail Bow River Bridge in Canada.

Commendations went to Harris and Sutherland for the Landmark Theatre in Ilfracombe; Halcrow Crouch for the Scalpay Bridge, Western Isles; and Mott MacDonald and Ove Arup for Hong Kong International Airport.

Oscar Faber won the Structural Achievement Award for the Guild Hall Yard East in the City of London. Dewhurst Macfarlane & Partners was commended. Andrew C Smith won the Structural Heritage Award for restoration of the Iron Bridge, Stratfield Saye in Hampshire.

Ignatius Lau Yick Sum posthumously received the Lewis Kent Award for contribution to the profession. Professor Frederick Burdekin received the Institution Gold Medal and Alexander Tait Service Award.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.