Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Internet pioneers win Queen's engineering prize

The five engineers behind the creation of the internet and the worldwide web have been awarded the inaugural £1M Queen Elizabeth (QE) Prize for engineering.

The winners, Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf and Louis Pouzin - who pioneered the creation of the internet; Tim Berners-Lee who led the creation of the world wide web; and Marc Andreessen, whose Mosaic browser made it possible to navigate the web, shared the prize. Lord Browne of Madingley, chairman of the QE Prize Trust and former president of the Royal Academy of Engineers, presented the award in the presence of princess Anne and after a rigorous judging process by a panel led by Lord Broers, “By laying the foundations for the Internet and the worldwide web, the five winners have done an extraordinary service for humanity,” said Lord Browne. “I am delighted that the prize can honour the endeavour of these engineers, and make the story of their world-changing innovation known to the public.”

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.