Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Institutions unite to honour outstanding engineers

ICE news

INSTITUTIONS representing civil, mechanical and electrical engineers joined forces with the Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA) at the ICE last week for a celebration of outstanding engineers and engineering.

'Father' of composite materials, Professor Anthony Kelly, collected the James Alfred Ewing Medal from outgoing ICE president Professor Adrian Long at the annual ICE awards ceremony.

The medal is awarded for 'specially merititous contributions to the science of engineering in the field of research' and recommendations are made jointly by ICE, IMechE, IEE and RINA.

Kelly was rewarded for his pioneering work in the development of new and improved materials.

His book Strong Solids, published in 1966, laid the scientific framework within which the development of composite materials has taken place.

Network Rail chief executive John Armitt was honoured with the Institution Gold Medal, two weeks after being named the ICE president's civil engineer of the year (NCE 23 October).

Armitt is awarded the medal - the ICE's top award - in recognition of his role in the railway industry since becoming chief executive of the rail operator.

He will be presented with the medal at the ICE's annual dinner in April.

Gordon Cho and Mac Steels received the Garth Watson Medal for dedicated service to the Institution.

Steels gets the award for 15 year's work as ICE regional liaison officer for the north west of England. Cho is honoured for his sustained contribution to ICE professional reviews in Hong Kong.

The coveted Brunel Medal - awarded to individuals or firms showing excellence in civil engineering - went to the team responsible for the City of Manchester Stadium.

Originating from the Society of Civil Engineering Technicians, the award particularly recognises work carried out by incorporated engineers and engineering technicians.

Recognising work in sustainable development, the Edmund Hambly medal went to the engineers responsible for the Newburn Riverside reclamation project.

Professor James Dooge received the International medal in recognition of his work in hydrology. Dooge chaired the scientific advisory committee of the World Climate Impact Studies Programme throughout the 1980s and was president of the International Commission on Water Resources between 1971 and 1975.

The awards for papers covered a range of subjects from the probability of flood risk (Paul Samuels and Neville Burt) to the Northern Line tunnel reconstruction at Old Street (Nicolas Burges, Jonathan Fagents and John Paterson).

The top award - the Telford Medal - went to David Potts, David Hight and Lidija Zdravkovic for their paper 'The effect of strength anisotropy on the behaviour of embankments on soft ground'.

Ted Allett, Richard Greer and Chris Manning were awarded the Webb prize for their paper 'Channel Tunnel Rail Link - high speed, low impact, minimum cost.

A report on the Channel Tunnel Rail Link by Ultan McCloskey won the James Rennie medal. The objective of this award is to recognise the importance of the design of permanent works in relation to temporary works and method of construction.

The George Stephenson Medal was awarded to Sally Cairns, Professor Stephen Atkins and Professor Phil Goodwin for their paper Disappearing traffic? The story so far which addresses what happens to traffic flows when road space is reallocated to bus lanes and pedestrian areas.

Johan Winterwerp, Zheng Bing Wang, Jan van Kester and Jillis Verweij were awarded the overseas prize for their paper entitled 'Far-field impact of water injection dredging in the Crouch River'.

Prizes were also presented to engineers excelling in their professional review. Brian Smith and Nicholas Chadwick were awarded the Renee Redfern Hunt memorial prize for essays written in the 2002 chartered professional review (CPR). Welsh candidates Jenifer Christian and Cefin Edwards won the Paterson prize for their CPR essays.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.