Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

IET extends deadline for Achievement Awards

The Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) has extended the deadline for entries for its annual Achievement Awards to June 7.

The IET want industry leaders to nominate those who have done great work, from establised names to those just starting their career.

Categories include the Faraday Medal, for notable scientific or industrial achievement in engineering, and the Mountbatten Medal, awarded in partnership with the Royal Academy of Engineering and the British Computer Society, to recognise a significant contribution in the field of electronics or information technology that benefits the UK.

Students and those in the early stages of their careers are also recognised through the Sir Henry Royce Medal, which is awarded to a young engineer, IT professional or industrial trainee for outstanding achievement in the previous year, or the William James Award for PhD students making a contribution toward the development of biomedical engineering.

Manager of Membership Services at The IET, Agnes Segal, said: “The engineering and technology profession contributes lots of fantastic work to our society every year, and it is important that this work does not go unacknowledged.

“By identifying outstanding and inspirational role models the Achievement Awards play a vital role in encouraging young people to enter the engineering and technology profession, and with the deadline fast approaching we are urging people to nominate the great work of their colleagues,” she said.

Candidates for the IET Achievement Awards have to be nominated by a third-party so look at the categories and download a nomination form. Winners are matched to awards by the committee, so only one nomination is required for a nominee to be considered for all appropriate awards.

Winners are chosen by the IET Awards and Prizes Committee for presentation at a ceremony hosted by Inventor and presenter, Jem Stansfield in Central London on Wednesday 24th November.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.