Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

ICE recognises civil engineering excellence

A subway station in Korea, a sustainable water project in Scotland and a bridge replacement scheme in Bangladesh are among winning projects taking home Institution of Civil Engineers awards this year.

ICE engineering excellence winners

Venables presents David Orr the Gold Medal Award

The awards, which celebrate excellence in civil engineering and promote those who have demonstrated a high level
commitment to the profession, were held last week at the ICE headquarters in Westminster.

As well as acknowledging the 25 top papers published through the ICE’s Journals during the year, special awards are also presented by president Jean Venables for service to the Institution and the profession.

Venables said that it was an honour to present the awards, especially the President’s award which she presented to Lord Berkeley for his work in promoting infrastructure and civil engineering in the House of Lords.

ICE engineering excellence winners

Jean Venables presents The Edmund Hambly medal to Gustavo Conejo-Watt, Louise Adamson, Kenneth Naylor

“Civil engineers have a responsibility to use our experience, expertise and knowledge to best serve the needs of society in terms of providing sustainable infrastructure solutions now and for the changing future,” she said. “Those who are receiving awards today should take extreme pride in their achievement - they have excelled in their chosen profession but also in contributing to communities here and abroad, among other things, providing sustainable sources of clean drinking water, facilitating transport of food and supplies to impoverished communities, and helping to reduce poverty through research and innovation. This is an immeasurable achievement.”

The Institution awards were awarded as follows:

  • The Warren Medal, in recognition of an ICE member’s service to his or her region. Awarded to Philip Donald PhD CEng FICE FIEI FIHT for his outstanding contribution to Northern Ireland, particularly the Bridges For Schools programme; and Angus McAvoy BSc CEng MICE, for his ongoing work over 30 years in the London region, including chairing the region twice.
  • The Garth Watson Medal, awarded for dedicated and valuable service to the Institution. This year’s winner was Adrian Coy BSc(hons) CEng FICE, for his dedicated and significant contributions to ICE in the East Midlands and Council.
  • Edmund Hambly Medal, for the creative design of an engineering project that makes a substantial contribution to sustainable development Awarded to Scottish Water for Katrine Water Project, the flagship project within Scottish Water’s programme to ensure cleaner and fresher water to some 700,000 customers in the Greater Glasgow area.
  • International Medal, awarded annually to a UK national civil engineer who has made an outstanding contribution to civil engineering outside the United Kingdom; or to non-UK citizen who has made an outstanding contribution to civil engineering inside the United Kingdom. Awarded to Iftikhar (Tim) Khan OBE MSc(Eng) CEng FICE FIHT FIEB in recognition of his significant contribution since the early 1990’s, working with Overseas Development association (now the Department for International Development) on its bridge replacement project, overseeing the replacement of over 60 bridges in Bangladesh.
  • Brunel Medal, presented to individuals or firms who have shown excellence in civil engineering. Seoul Metropolitan Government was awarded the Brunel medal for their Express bus terminal station on the Seoul subway line 9 project, which involved avoiding many potential pitfalls to build a new station beneath an existing bus terminal, department store and two other operational subway lines.
  • Gold Medal, which recognises sustained contribution to civil engineering over many years is of sufficient magnitude to merit an Institution premier award. Awarded to David Orr MSc CEng CEnv FICE FIAE FIHT in recognition of his contribution to the development of infrastructure in Northern Ireland.
  • James Alfred Ewing Medal for contributions to the science of engineering in the field of research. Awarded to Professor Adrian Long OBE FREng FIAE BSc PhD DSc DSc (hon CUL) FICE FIStructE FACI for contributions to the science of engineering during over 40 years of research.
  • Presidents Medal awarded personally by the President for service to the Institution or the profession that has not otherwise been recognised. Awarded to Lord Berkeley MICE FRSA FCILT Honorary FIMechE OBE in recognition of the professional expertise and knowledge that Lord Berkeley has provided in the House of Lords for over 17 years.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.