Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

ICE presidential team reshuffle

ICE Council has revised the presidential succession as a result of Scott Steedman stepping down as vice president last week to pursue a new professional role.

Peter Hansford‘s appointment as succeeding vice president has been accelerated and he will now take over the presidency from Paul Jowitt in November 2010. 

Hansford has served three years as a vice president already and will also continue as chairman of Thomas Telford until November, when he takes on the senior vice president role.

Hansford said: “I am excited to be taking on the senior vice president role this year. It is an unexpected but very welcome change of plans and after serving three years in the role of vice president I am ready to embrace this new responsibility. I consider it to be a further opportunity to contribute to the ongoing growth and success of the institution.”

Richard Coackley will take office as president in 2011.

I am excited to be taking on the senior vice president role this year. It is an unexpected but very welcome change of plans

Peter Hansford

He will be followed by Barry Clarke, who has been elected to become a succeeding vice president in November this year. David Balmforth will also join the ranks as a new vice president this year.  

Balmforth said: “I am very pleased to have been elected to become a vice president this year. I have been involved with the ICE for five years with the Yorkshire and Humber region, and more recently, with the water panel, the executive board and in my role as chairman of the inter-institutional flood group. I am looking forward to a new challenge.”

All appointments are subject to annual re-election.

The presidential team for 2009/10

ICE vice president (VP) Scott Steedman stepped down from his role at the Institution last month,
meaning he will no longer become president in 2010.This has led to a reshuffle within the ICE presidential team.

  • Paul William Jowitt, President
    Jowitt is Professor of Civil Engineering Systems and executive director of the Scottish Institute of Sustainable Technology at Heriot Watt University.
  • Peter Hansford, VP
    Hansford is an executive director of Nichols. He is also a board member of the Engineering Council UK.
  • Eur Ing Richard Coackley, VP
    Coackley is the managing director of engineering at White Young Green.
  • Eur Ing Professor Barry Goldsmith Clarke, VP
    Clarke is professor of civil engineering geotechnics at Leeds University.
  • David Hutchinson, VP
    Hutchinson is the Rail Business Unit Manager of Parsons Brinckerhoff.
  • Geoffrey French, VP
    French is chairman of the Scott Wilson Group. He is also chairman of the ACE.
  • William Kemp, VP
    Kemp is a member of several ICE committees including the finance, learned society and international policy committees.
  • David Balmforth, VP
    Balmforth is a technical director for flooding and climate change adaptation strategies with MWH.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.