Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

ICE celebrates engineering excellence

The annual ICE awardswere presented at One Great George Street last week, recognising excellence in engineering in a number of categories.
Winners are selected by the ICE awards committee and then endorsed by Council. Members of Council, ICE regions and individual ICE members may all nominate candidates for all these awards.

The president's medal for outstanding service civil engineering industry was awarded to Dr Martin Barnes.

The Edmund Hambly medal for creative design in an engineering project that makes a substantial contribution to sustainable development, was presented to Doug King for the Innovate Green Office in Leeds.

The Brunel medal is awarded to recognise excellence in civil engineering.

All teams, persons or organisations operating within the built environment are eligible. This year, the winner was the team behind the Emirates Stadium, presented to Andrew Veness.

The Institution of Civil Engineers Gold medal, for civil engineering excellence is presented to an individual who has made valuable contributions to civil engineering over many years, this year was presented to Professor Sudhangsu Sekhar Chakraborty.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.