Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

ICE Awards 2004

ICE news

The finest engineering academics and professionals in the industry came together earlier this month for this year's ICE awards. Individuals and teams were commended for their contribution to topics such as the advancement of optical communications and recovering energy from waste.

Southampton University's optical communications guru, professor David Payne was presented with the ICE's Kelvin medal for outstanding contributions to engineering.

Payne designed and built the world's first machine which could fabricate multi-kilometre lengths of precision glass fibres.

The James Alfred Ewing Medal for contribution to engineering in the field of research was presented to professor John Spence from Strathclyde University. Spence's work has been in the field of pressure vessels and piping has had major impact on the nuclear and oil industry Ex Midlands chair Terry Mulroy was awarded the Garth Watson Medal for dedication to ICE activities for nearly 30 years. Mulroy was also a member of ICE Council between 1993 and 2000 and played a major role in formulating the ICE's policy on transport.

Ex-finance committee chair Hugh Norrie also received the Garth Watson Medal for his contribution to Council and stewardship of the ICE's finances.

Engineers working on the Integra North Energy Recovery Facility at Basingstoke were awarded the Brunel Medal.

The team was commended for the innovative project which was designed to blend in with its surroundings using organic curves and colours. Onyx project director John Collis received the award.

The facility provides an alternative to landfill and produces energy from waste. It is capable of processing 90,000t of waste per year, by recovering heat from incineration to produce steam used to generate up to 8MW of electricity.

Keeping on the environmental theme, engineers responsible for the Okehampton Recycling Centre received the Edmund Hambly Medal which recognises creative sustainable engineering design. This recycling centre has been built almost entirely using recycled and re-used materials.

The Zienkiewicz Medal and Prize went to Dr Gregory Wagner for his paper on Particulate flow simulations using lubrication theory solution enrichment. The £1,000 prize and silver medal is awarded biennially to a post graduate researcher under 40 for a published paper.

John Fanstone was awarded the James Rennie medal for a report on Integrating design and construction. The award is given to the author of a paper under 35 sitting the chartered professional review.

William Ward was awarded the Warren Medal in recognition of his service to local associations since 1947.

Ward will be presented the Medal at the ICE South Wales dinner in May 2005.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.