Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Graduate Awards finalists revealed

Finalists for the 2014 Graduate Awards include a fantastic gender-balanced mix of the brightest civil engineers new to the industry.

John Donaghy (Aecom), Mike Frazer (Amey), Richard Lebon (Mott MacDonald), Sophie McPhillips (Atkins), Camilla Nicholson (Atkins) and Monica Steele (Amey) have been chosen to go through to the next round.

They will each give a presentation to a panel of judges from the civil engineering industry’s leading organisations.

Chaired by NCE editor Mark Hansford, the judging panel will meet with the finalists on 14 November at One Great George Street in London to choose the winner and runners up who will share the cash prize of £4,000.

Returning judge Heathrow Airport portfolio director Phil Wilbraham said: “My experience of judging the awards has always been that the quality of the graduates is exceptional and the amount they have achieved in a short time is always breath-taking – for me the judging day is always inspirational.”

Full list of judges representing the Awards’ sponsors:

  • NCE editor Mark Hansford
  • Topcon positioning instruments division business manager David Bennett
  • Aecom director of geotechnical engineering Peter Boyd  
  • Laing O’Rourke engineering excellence group director Gavin Davies
  • Mott MacDonald transportation managing director Chris Davies
  • Balfour Beatty managing director (living places) Amanda Fisher
  • Ramboll director Pat Jansen
  • ICE director of membership David Lloyd-Roach
  • Mace chief executive Mark Reynolds
  • TfL director of asset management Dana Skelley
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff  director, marketing & communications, Europe Rachel Skinner
  • MWH director of strategy David Smith
  • Amey head of consulting David Spencer
  • J Murphy & Sons chief executive officer John Stack
  • Atkins water and environment managing director Neil Thomas
  • Arup director John Turzynski
  • Heathrow Airport portfolio director Phil Wilbraham

Readers' comments (4)

  • Congratulations to all of those shortlisted!

    I'd be really intersted to know the split of applicants between private and public sector. Looking back, there have been no shortlisted candidates from the public sector for at least the last five years. Is this a concern - an apparent lack of new talent entering the public sector?

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Thomas Wallace

    Well done! Prepare yourself for some photo finding challenges (I'm not joking).

    Really hoped to see some out-and-out contractors on the list this year- is being a contracting graduate really that uninspiring?

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Congs to these people who enter into the final!!

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • It's interesting to note that all the finalists are from massive & global companies... Is there no representation from smaller companies? And it also interesting to note that all the finalists work for the sponsors of the award. Is this award only winnable by selected graduates who happen to work for one of the sponsors? That would pretty much alienate hundreds of small civil engineering companies... And the public sector has no representation too!

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.