Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Graduate Award entries showcase young talent

Entries for the 2014 Graduate Awards are already demonstrating the wealth of talented young engineers working around the world on technically challenging projects.

Taking in structural and geotechnical engineering, power and transport across developed and developing nations, this year’s candidates are also among the most ambitious and able yet.

The deadline for entries has now passed as 18 representatives from leading UK civil engineering organisations embark on selecting a shortlist of candidates for the Graduate of the Year award.

Finalists will be notified by 24 October and invited to give a presentation to the Awards’ esteemed judging panel at One Great George Street on 14 November. Winners will share in £4,000 of prize money.

Awards judge Heathrow Airport portfolio director Phil Wilbraham said: “My experience of judging the awards has always been that the quality of graduates is exceptional and the amount they have achieved in a short time is always breath-taking – for me the judging day is always inspirational.”

The other Awards judges are NCE editor Mark Hansford (chair), Topcon business manager David Bennett, Laing O’Rourke group director Gavin Davies, Mott MacDonald transportation managing director Chris Davies, Balfour Beatty managing director Amanda Fisher,  Ramboll director Pat Jansen, ICE membership director David Lloyd-Roach, Mace chief executive Mark Reynolds, Transport fof London director of asset management Dana Skelley, Parsons Brinckerhoff director Rachel Skinner, MWH director David Smith, Amey head of consulting David Spencer, J Murphy & Sons CEO John Stack, Atkins water and environment managing director Neil Thomas, Arup director John Turzynski and Aecom director Peter Boyd.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.