Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Government names industry board

Mott MacDonald chairman Keith Howell and Laing O’Rourke chief executive and chairman Ray O’Rourke are amongst the top industry figures named on the government’s Industrial Strategy council, announced today.

Construction minister Michael Fallon announced the eighteen member advisory council which will oversee the government’s industry strategy.

Led by ICE Past President Peter Hansford, the new strategy will be announced in the summer.

“I look forward to working with them over the next six months to create a long-term strategy for our industry and to chart the way forward for construction in the UK,” said Hansford.

The issues the strategy is expected to cover include growth and innovation; supply chain; SME engagement; skills; access to finance and overseas trade. It will build on, but not duplicate, the work of the Green Construction Board, the Infrastructure UK Cost Review, and the Government Construction Board.

Members of the Construction Industrial Strategy Advisory Council are:

• Peter Hansford (Chair) - Chief Construction Adviser, UK Government
• Denise Bower - Professor in Engineering Project Management, University of Leeds
• Mark Clare - Group Chief Executive, Barratt Developments
• Geoff Cooper - Chief Executive, Travis Perkins
• Keith Howells – Chairman, Mott MacDonald
• Chris Kane – Director, Greendale Construction
• Simon Kirby - Managing Director, Infrastructure Projects Network Rail
• Kevin Louch - Managing Director, Stanford Industrial Concrete Flooring
• Robert Mair – Professor and Head of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Cambridge
• Chris Newsome - Director of Asset Management, Anglian Water
• Ray O’Rourke - Chief Executive and Chairman, Laing O’Rourke
• David Pinder - Chief Executive, BDR Thermea
• Neil Sachdev - Property Director, Sainsbury’s
• Paul Sheffield - Chief Executive, Kier Group
• James Stewart - Chairman of Global Infrastructure, KPMG
• Jack Pringle - Principal, Managing Director, Pringle Brandon Perkins + Will
• Mike Putnam - CEO and President, Skanska UK
• Mark Wakeford - Managing Director, Stepnell

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.