Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Glossop Award


The Glossop Award is made annually to a practising engineering geologist under 30 years old. Candidates will be fellows of the Geological Society who are training to become, or are already, chartered geologists.

Last year's winner was Andrew Mills of Halcrow, who presented his paper Novel approaches to mitigation of peat slide risk, an example from Channerwick, Shetland, at the Engineering Geology Forum in November 2005 .

This year's winner will present their paper at the 10th IAEG conference in Nottingham in September (see box on this page). To enter, submit a short abstract (500 words) by 30 June to Tracey Radford, EGGS secretary, Atkins, Woodcote Grove, Ashley Road, Epsom, Surrey KT18 5BW.

The abstract should outline a case history demonstrating the entrant's part in an engineering geology project. Shortlisted candidates will be required to present a paper in front of a selection panel at Burlington House at the end of July.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.