Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Fugro names chair in Geotechnics at UWA

Royal Society of Engineering fellow Mark Randolph has been appointed as the first Fugro chair in geotechnics at the University of Western Australia’s (UWA’s) Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems (COFS).

By establishing the Fugro chair in geotechnics, Fugro and COFS aim to develop a sustainable research group, which will be significant in Fugro’s activities worldwide and will support the wider geotechnical community.

The group will address key research questions related to cost-effective design and performance in the field of offshore geotechnics, reducing risk and enhancing engineering design within the sector. It will also strengthen collaboration between Fugro and COFS, which stems from the development between UWA and Fugro Advanced Geomechanics over almost 20 years.

Randolph has been the recipient of many science and industry awards over a long career, including being named as Western Australia’s Scientist of the Year in 2014.

“This is a richly deserved honour for Mark, who has led the way in the development of many aspects of geotechnics, especially those associated with offshore engineering,” commented Phil Watson, director of Fugro Advanced Geomechanics, Perth and Fugro’s Global Service Line manager GeoConsulting.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.