Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Fleming finalists

The British Geotechnical Association has announced the finalists for the first Ken Fleming Award.

The £30000 prize, sponsored by Kvaerner Cementation Foundations, will be awarded on 13 September at the ICE in London.The finalists are:

Team 1: Home extension project, central London Neil Smith, Applied Geotechnical Engineering;

John Hislam, Applied Geotechnical Engineering; Gerwyn Price, CMCS; Chris Berry, Berry Withers Piling; Tom Lester, R Durtnell & Sons; and David Wilson, Symonds Travers Morgan.

Team 2: Copenhagen Metro - The observational method at Norreport station Richard Bailey, Maunsell; Paul Thurlow, Bachy Soletanche; Morten Fauschon, Cowi; Trevor Roberts, Carillion; Steve Welman, Comet; and David Beadman, Bachy Soletanche Team 3: Rainham Landfill-The KGRID foundation support system Stephen Jackson, Cleanaway; Nicholas Gorst, formerly of Halcrow UK; and Bob Essler, Keller Ground Engineering.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.