Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Final four fight it out to be Manager of the Year

FOUR FINALISTS were chosen on Monday for the ICE's Civil Engineering Manager of the Year Award.

The four - Roger Bayliss, Chris Marshall, Douglas Oakervee and Simon Ohlenschlager - were picked by a judging panel, chaired by ICE vice president David Cawthra, on the basis of their written submissions for the award.

Bayliss project-managed the Western Immersed Tube harbour crossing and the Central Subway pedestrian link on Hong Kong Island - both part of the Mass Transit Railway's Airport Railway.

Hong Kong was also the backdrop to Oakervee's entry - as project director for Chek Lap Kok Airport which opened this month.

Marshall was Symonds Group project manager for the design of the resund Tunnel, part of the Denmark-Sweden sea crossing.

Ohlenschlager was agreement manager for contractor Tilbury Douglas in its extended arm work for Thames Water on maintenance and provision of new assets.

The outright winner will be decided after presentations on 8 September and announced during a dinner at the ICE on the same day.

The annual award is sponsored by ICE and John Laing Construction, and co-sponsored by NCE and the Institute of Management. Further details of the finalists and their work will be included in ICE News on 6 August.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.