Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Entries sought for International Tunnelling Awards 2011

Following the successful launch of the International Tunnelling Awards in 2010, New Civil Engineer is now calling for entries for the 2011 awards which will this year take the exciting global programme to Hong Kong.

The move away from London, last year’s venue, underlines the global nature of the tunnelling business and emphasises the fact that, right now, the Asian market is at the epicentre of tunnelling innovation and expertise.

Major infrastructure projects continue to drive economic recovery around the world as governments remain committed to investment in public transport, water, waste and energy projects to kick-start faltering economies. Hong Kong, with a dozen major tunnelling projects either already underway or about to kick off, is a fitting venue.

Proximity to the blossoming Chinese market where some 50 TBMs are currently operating in the Shanghai region alone, makes this year’s event hugely important in terms of uniting the global profession and providing a platform to share ideas and network.

As last year, the awards are designed specifically to celebrate and reward the outstanding work and innovation in the global tunnelling industry.  Entries are open to any project, individual, product or supplier in the market who can demonstrate innovation and achievement over the last 12 months.

The categories once again will reflect the fact that tunnelling projects require the involvement and collaboration of clients, designers, project managers, contractors, specialist consultants and sub-contractors, plant manufacturers, materials suppliers and product manufacturers. Celebration and recognition will be shared across the whole industry.

Entries are sought from the global tunnelling market across a range of project, performance, product, company and individual categories. Each category is designed to reward a specific outstanding achievement made in the tunnelling industry over the last 12 months with the winners held up as exemplars of best practice or leaders in their field.

The awards are looking to reward completed projects but, given the scale and complexity of modern tunnelling projects, they will also recognise specific outstanding achievements being made during the on-going delivery of current major global projects.

A panel of judges has been assembled from across the tunnelling world so as to provide a range of skills with which to assess the entries. NCE has worked with the International Tunnelling Association to identify this best individuals for this task and to ensure that the whole global profession is properly represented.

The shortlist will be revealed in Hong Kong at the Tunneling2020 conference on 19 September where final judging, and where appropriate final candidate interviews, will also take place.

The overall winners will be announced at a specially organised awards ceremony in Hong Kong in December 2011.

To find out more, click here

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.