Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Enter revamped British Construction Industry Awards now

Pr mb i360 21 ™paul raftery emailable cropped

The prestigious British Construction Industry Awards have been revamped and relaunched for 2018. Here is how to enter.

Bcia logo 2018 whit bck for web copy

The British Construction Industry Awards  are the most prestigious awards in the built environment sector, with winning projects and teams rightly recognised for their achievements within the industry and the public. Last year was without question the best year ever, with the awards celebrating their 30th anniversary with the biggest event yet: the most entries ever and the highest ever attendance at the gala awards dinner.

Now, into their 31st year, the expectation is for the awards to be better than ever. This year new project categories reflect project outcomes rather than outputs and there is a revamped judging panel to capture the views of broader stakeholders and end users and to showcase the industry’s work on an even wider stage.

The awards are delivered by New Civil Engineer and the ICE and they are the only national construction industry awards where a panel of judges visits every project. They are also the only national industry awards that unite architects, consultants, contractors and clients with entries coming from entire project teams.

  • Entries are now being invited. Find out more here

The awards

Awards recognising best practice in project delivery

There are now eight awards categories that recognise best practice in project delivery; these are key industry change initiatives and build on government-led change initiatives designed to boost the productivity and digital transformation of the construction industry.

Entries should be initiatives being applied to live projects that are already making a demonstrable impact on project delivery.

These categories will be judged by three expert representatives from the judging panel in face to face interviews.

They are:

NEW | Carbon Reduction Initiative of the Year

Recognising projects that are contributing to driving down whole life carbon use as a means to mitigating climate change

Community Engagement Initiative of the Year Recognising projects that include outstanding community engagement initiatives, vital to the success of infrastructure projects.

NEW | Digital Transformation Initiative of the Year

This category has been introduced to recognise projects that are driving the use of smart technologies in construction.

Health, Safety & Wellbeing Initiative of the Year

Recognising project teams which show they understand the importance of creating a safe and healthy working environment that promotes the industry as one that is attractive and welcoming to all.

Partnership Initiative of the Year

This award recognises project teams that are changing ways of working to deliver better outcomes for all those involved in the construction industry.  

NEW | Productivity in Construction Initiative of the Year

Rewarding innovation in productivity, product design or technology applications that boost productivity.

Temporary Works Initiative of the Year

Recognising that temporary works form a vital but often overlooked part of any construction project, large or small.

NEW | Skills Impact Initiative of the Year

Rewarding innovation in engagement, employment, education and opportunity within a project and supply chains.

Awards recognising successful project outcomes

There are now eight awards categories that recognise successful, delivered projects. These remain the core of the event and are now grouped according to the type of outcome they deliver for society.

They will be judged by site visitz from at least three representatives from the judging panel. They are:

NEW | Commercial Property Project of the Year

Recognising outstanding commercial and mixed used buildings where the primary function/focus is on providing commercial space.

NEW | Cultural & Leisure Project of the Year

Recognising the value of exceptional buildings and public spaces in delivering social and economic benefit.

NEW | Climate Resilience Project of the Year

Recognising projects that provide resilience for the impact of extreme weather and climate change on people, properties and businesses.

NEW | Housing Project of the Year

Addressing the chronic need for sustainable housing, this category is open to projects where housing is the primary purpose.

Social Infrastructure Project of the Year Recognising projects that deliver exceptional social impact for stakeholders.

NEW | Transport Project |of the Year

Recognising transport projects that enhance capacity, improve connectivity, boost safety and drive economic growth.

NEW | Infrastructure Maintenance Project of the Year

Recognising the inherent value of existing infrastructure and projects that make best use of them.

NEW | Utility Project of the Year

Recognising projects providing excellence in the management and delivery of utilities.

Flagship Awards

There are also three, flagship awards, with shortlists drawn from the main categories. They are:

Judges Special Award

For a project or initiative which the judges consider to be particularly inspirational in one or more aspects and that would otherwise go unrecognised.

NEW | Exporting Expertise Award

Recognising the role that UK businesses and those that work for them play in shaping the world. It will be awarded to a recognisably British-developed initiative that has been applied on an international project.

Prime Minister’s Better Public Building Award

Recognising and encouraging excellence in publicly funded buildings and infrastructure. The award is open to all shortlisted buildings and infrastructure projects that were commissioned by or on behalf of central or local government or by a grant-aided organisation. From these the judges will recommend projects to the Infrastructure & Projects Authority and BEIS for consideration.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.