Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Disaster writing competition winners announced

The winning entries in NCE's Historic Disasters competition are announced, with Nayed Mohyud-Din's account of the Tay Bridge disaster in 1879 winning first prize.

You can read the commended and winning entried by clicking on the links below, or go to

Judges were:

Mark Whitby, chairman of Ramboll Whitbybird and founder of
Mike Chrimes, head of knowledge at the ICE
Antony Oliver, Editor, NCE

First Place

A prize of £250.00 and publication in NCE and on

Nayef Mohyud-Din's account of the Tay Bridge disaster


£50.00 prize and publication on

Scott Munachen's 'Faulty Towers', an account of the Ronan Point collapse

Richard Balmer's 'Disaster on a May Day' account of the Abbeystead explosion


Publication on

Hassan Joudi's account of the 1864 Great Sheffiled Flood

Rob Wheatley's account of the Carr Bridge collapse

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.