Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Cockshaw hands over on awards high note

SIR ALAN Cockshaw handed over the ICE's annual awards at the awards ceremony on 3 November before handing over the reins of the presidency to Roger Sainsbury.

Institution medals were awarded to:

Professor Christopher Calladine (RIGHT), who won the James Alfred Ewing Medal, a joint ICE/Royal Society award for contributions to the science of engineering. Calladine was recognised for his work on shell structures.

Sir Alan Muir Wood (CENTRE RIGHT) won the Institution Gold Medal in recognition of his work in the design of tunnels and underground works in hard and soft ground and in coastal engineering.

Professor Steven Wearne (FAR RIGHT) was awarded the Garth Watson Medal in recognition of 12 years work as a series editor of the Institution's working party responsible for the new edition of Civil engineering procedure published in 1996.

Professor Duncan Dowson received the Kelvin Medal, an inter-institution award for an outstanding contribution to engineering. Dowson was recognised for his application of Science to Engineering linked with research and implementation into practice.

Civil engineers responsible for the design of the Third Dee Crossing were awarded the Brunel Medal.

The Edmund Hambly Medal, awarded for a project making a big contribution to sustainable development went to the Heartlands spine road scheme, regenerating 1,100ha of derelict, polluted land near the centre of Birmingham.

Dr Sanjay Govindjee was the winner of the Zienkiewicz Medal for his paper 'Computational methods for inverse deformations in quasi incompressible finite elasticity'. The medal is a new biennial prize of 1,000 and a silver medal to a postgraduate researcher under the age of 35.

The 1,500 Television Network Award awarded for to engineers under the age of 35 who demonstrate good knowledge of the aims and application of Continuing Professional Development was won by Laura Chalkley. A video programme based on Chalkley's paper 'Civil engineering and premises maintenance on the Jubilee and East London Lines of LUL' will be shown on the Civil Engineers Channel.

The Renee Redfern Hunt Memorial Prizes for best professional review essays were won by Phillip Wells and Gavin Reeve.

The Rees Jeffreys Award for municipal engineering was won by Tapio Raukola for his paper 'Winter maintenance of highways in Finland'.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.