Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Calling all innovators

Competition - If you are constantly pushing for smarter solutions in civil engineering, you should be entering the Emerging Engineering Design Awards.

Buro Happold and NCE launched the Emerging Engineering Design Awards last year to find the passionate, creative civil engineers of today and tomorrow. Arup Associates' Tim Snelson won the inaugural event for his work on Wembley Park Tube station.

If you think you can match or beat him, start putting your entry together for the 2007 award.

As well as highlighting the work of outstanding individuals, the competition helps reveal to a wider audience the crucial role being played by brilliant civil engineers and their engineering in creating a vibrant and sustainable modern world.

The competition is open to anyone under 40 working in civil engineering design. Entries can be by individuals or teams of engineers led by someone under 40, but it must be clear on any team entry how each team member has contributed to the final design.

The project itself does not have to be glamorous. It may be a high profile bridge, but it could equally be a drainage system, water treatment plant, retaining structure or foundation.

What the judges will be looking for is inspiring, innovative engineering that meets the needs of the client and community. They want to see evidence that the design is technically clever and that construction has been considered in design.

They also want to see that the designer is aware of the impact of the design on safety, the environment, the local economy, and users and the local as well as wider community.

Judges would also like to see the breadth and depth of an individual's or team's experience, illustrated through appropriate references or a brief CV.

Designs submitted for the competition must be for projects that have been commissioned, if not actually built. They can be located anywhere in the world.

Download the entry form at www. nceplus. co. uk/eeda

EEDA Awards Prize The winner of the Emerging Engineering Design Award 2006 will receive: - The Happold Trophy - A cheque for ú5000 Key dates Closing date for entries: 27 July Shortlisting: 28 September Final judging: 26 October Awards: Wednesday 21 November, London The Judges Rod MacDonald (chairman), chairman, Buro Happold Darren James, highways director, Costain Gordon Clarke, chairman, Gifford Tim Snelson, associate director, Arup Associates, and last year's EEDA winner Alan Powderham, director of transportation, Mott MacDonald Antony Oliver, editor, New Civil Engineer

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.