Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

BGS anniversary gold medals

THE BRITISH Geotechnical Society is to honour two of the industry's senior figures at its 50th anniversary AGM in June with the award of Skempton Gold Medals.

Ken Fleming of Kvaerner Cementation Foundations and Dick Parry, the retiring secretary general of the International Society for Soil Mechanics & Geotechnical Engineering, receive awards for their outstanding contribution to the British geotechnical community.

Other awards being presented on the night include the 1999 BGS Prize for the best paper published in the previous year to MR Cooper, EN Bromhead, DJ Petley, DI Grant for 'The Selbourn cutting stability experiment' published in February's Geotechnique.

Antoine Andrei, of Kvaerner Cementation Foundations, receives the 1999 Cooling Prize.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.