Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

BCIA open for entries


ENTRIES FOR the British Construction Industry Awards 2000 are invited this week for all projects completed between 1 May 1999 and 31 April 2000.

Now in their 13th year, the industry's premier awards recognise overall excellence in the design, planning, construction and performance in service of buildings and civil engineering projects.

Sir Andrew Turnbull, permanent secretary to the Treasury, will chair the panel of leading industry figures judging the six categories this year. He brings with him the full endorsement of Government for successes in the construction industry.

Launching the Awards, he said: 'Government is the construction industry's largest client. It has made clear its determination to encourage and require higher standards of quality and productivity in the delivery of construction projects.'

He added: 'The judging criteria for these awards closely reflect the Government's goals not only as a client but also in its support for the industry's efforts to build on its successes in the global market.'

The six categories for 2000 are:

Small Project - up to £2M; sponsored by Thomas Telford

Building - up to £50M; sponsored by BSI.

Civil Engineering - up to £50M; sponsored by Beresford Blake Thomas

Major Project - for building and civil projects worth more than £50M; sponsored by Marshalls

Best Practice; sponsored by the Construction Best Practice Programme

International; sponsored by Pricewaterhouse Coopers.

Other members of the judging panel are Professor George Fleming, ICE President; Keith Clarke, chief executive, Kvaerner Construction; Michael Dickson, chairman Buro Happold; Paul Finch, publishing director of The Architects Journal; Sir William McAlpine; John McAslan; Jane Priestman representing the Daily Telegraph; Mike Winney, editor emeritus NCE.

Judges for the International Award are Bob McGowan, chairman Scott Wilson Group; Bryan Jefferson, architectural adviser, Department of Culture, Media & Sport; and Christopher Spackman, director, Bovis Lend Lease.

The awards are promoted by NCE, The Architects Journal and the Daily Telegraph.

Closing date for entries is 19 May 2000. Results will be announced at a gala awards dinner at the London Hilton on 18 October.

Entry forms are available from Sue Ormsby, BCIA, 1 Great George Street, London SW1P 3AA. Fax: (0207) 665 2370 or

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.