Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

BCIA improves with new Best Practice award

THE BRITISH Construction Industry Awards for 1999 will feature a new award sponsored by the Government's Construction Best Practice Programme.

Now in their 12th year, the industry's premier awards recognise overall excellence in the design, planning, construction and performance in service of buildings and civil engineering projects.

The new Best Practice category follows the recommendations of Sir John Egan's Rethinking Construction report. It will reward the project which best meets client needs, encourages team working and achieves continuous improvement over the duration of the project

British Airways chief executive Robert Ayling will chair the panel of leading industry figures judging the six categories this year. He said the panel was committed to 'seeking out and rewarding true excellence' in this year's awards. Last year BA's new Waterside office building near Heathrow Airport won the prestigious Major Project category.

Entries are open to projects completed since last May. The six categories for 1999 are:

Small Project - up to £2M

Building - £2M to £50M

Civil Engineering - £2M to £50M

Major Project - for building and civil projects worth more than £50M

Best Practice International

The first five awards are open to any project in the UK or overseas where both the principal designer and principal contractor are British. The International award is for projects overseas in which either the principal designer or contractor is a UK-based British firm.

Other members of the judging panel are Roger Sainsbury, ICE President; John Armitt, chief executive, Costain Group; Robert Benaim; Rab Bennetts; Paul Finch, editor, The Architects Journal; Ian Macpherson, chairman, Mace; Jane Priestman representing The Daily Telegraph (joint sponsor with the AJ and NCE); Mike Winney, editor emeritus NCE.

Judges for the International Award are Robert Beresford, former chairman Mott MacDonald Group; Bryan Jefferson, architectural adviser, Department of Culture, Media & Sport; and Christopher Spackman, director, Bovis.

The awards are also sponsored by Glenigan, BSI, Thomas Telford, Marsh & McLennan and the Construction Best Practice Programme.

Closing date for entries is 28 May 1999. Results will be announced at a gala awards dinner at the London Hilton on 21 October. Entry forms are available from Patricia Gordon, BCIA, 1 Great George Street, London SW1P 3AA. Fax: (0171) 233 1743.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.