Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Awards for Institution papers

The ICE's highest award for a paper, the Telford Medal was awarded to Professor David Potts, Professor Peter Vaughan, and Professor Nebojsa Kovacevic for their paper 'Delayed collaspe of cut slopes in stiff clay'.

The James Watt Medal for mechanical engineering went to Henri Brouet for his paper 'The shiplift at Strepy Thieu, Canal du Centre, Belgium'.

Gordon Millington won the George Stephenson Medal for the 'Development of the River Lagan in Belfast'.

The Baker Medal for development in engineering practice was won by Professor David Cleland and Professor Adrian Long for their paper 'The pull off test for concrete repairs'.

The Parkman Medal for management of design/construction of a specific scheme was won by Roger Gosney, Grant Gellatly, Anthony Kerr and Ken Petch.

The Safety in Construction Medal was won by Stuart Smith and Herve Lacombe for 'A second shelter for Chernobyl: its necessity and feasibility'.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.