Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Award recognition

HARD WORKING civil engineers who deserve a medal will soon be getting them.

Five medals for outstanding achievements and services to the civil engineering profession have just been announced by the Institution.

Sir Alan Muir Wood, a past president of the ICE and former senior partner of Sir William Halcrow & Partners, has been awarded the Gold Medal for civil engineering excellence in the design of tunnels, underground works in hard or soft ground and coastal engineering.

Muir Wood has published a large number of technical papers on design and construction for civil engineering works and served on government research and engineering committees.

Birmingham City Transportation Department has been awarded the Edmund Hambly Medal for the Heartlands Spine Road Scheme.

The award for a creative design of an engineering project which makes up a sustainable development went to a project built as the prime means to help regenerate 1,100ha of derelict and heavily polluted land north of central Birmingham. It involved a decontamination programme and landscaping of the spine road to diminish its impact and integrate it into the surrounding area.

The Alfred Ewing Medal for research into the science of engineering has gone to Professor Christopher Calladine for his contribution to the engineering theory of shell structures for building curved roofs. His work has led to two key theoretical breakthroughs relating to steel structures.

Professor Stephen Wearne has been awarded the Garth Watson Medal for services to the ICE. As series editor of the ICE's Management Guides books for 12 years, Wearne was responsible for securing the authors, commenting on drafts and progressing each book through to publication.

The Brunel Medal for excellence by a group of individuals goes to a team of civil engineers from Gifford Graham & Partners, for the design of the third Dee crossing over the A548, for Clwyd County Council.

Medals will be presented by Sir Alan Cockshaw on 3 November.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs